Press Release

Monday, May 19

AWB Announces 2014 Automatic Endorsements

11 Senators, 32 House members make top business group’s list

OLYMPIA — Forty-two members of the Washington State Legislature have earned automatic endorsement from the state’s largest business association.

The Association of Washington Business today confirmed 43 incumbent candidates — 11 senators and 32 representatives — as recipients of the association’s early endorsement based on their lifetime voting record on business issues. Legislators who garner an 80 percent or better voting record with AWB receive an automatic endorsement.

“These legislators have demonstrated a consistent commitment to supporting policies that foster a healthy and competitive business environment in Washington state,” said Gary Chandler, vice president of government affairs for AWB. “We need people in Olympia who understand the challenges faced by today’s private employers, and the impact of legislative decisions on job creation and business expansion. Our economy is still fragile. We face increasing competition from border states and the world around us. Our regulatory and tax system matters. And Washington state needs lawmakers who understand how those decisions play out in the free market.”

The association’s full review of the 2014 legislative session and complete vote record for the House, Senate and governor will be published later next month. The complete list of automatically endorsed candidates includes:

  • Sen. Jan Angel, R-Port Orchard
  • Sen. Michael Baumgartner, R-Spokane
  • Sen. Sharon Brown, R-Kennewick
  • Sen. Brian Dansel, R-Republic
  • Sen. Doug Ericksen, R-Ferndale
  • Sen. Joe Fain, R-Auburn
  • Sen. Andy Hill, R-Redmond
  • Sen. Jim Honeyford, R-Sunnyside
  • Sen. Steve O’Ban, R-Pierce County
  • Sen. Pam Roach, R-Auburn
  • Sen. Tim Sheldon, D-Potlatch
  • Rep. Vincent Buys, R-Lynden
  • Rep. Bruce Chandler, R-Granger
  • Rep. Richard DeBolt, R-Chehalis
  • Rep. Susan Fagan, R-Pullman
  • Rep. Larry Haler, R-Richland
  • Rep. Mark Hargrove, R-Covington
  • Rep. Paul Harris, R-Vancouver
  • Rep. Brad Hawkins, R-East Wenatchee
  • Rep. Dave Hayes, R-Camano Island
  • Rep. Jeff Holy, R-Cheney
  • Rep. Chris Hurst, D-Enumclaw
  • Rep. Norm Johnson, R-Yakima
  • Rep. Brad Klippert, R-Kennewick
  • Rep. Linda Kochmar, R-Federal Way
  • Rep. Joel Kretz, R-Wauconda
  • Rep. Dan Kristiansen, R-Snohomish
  • Rep. Drew MacEwan, R-Union
  • Rep. Chad Magendaz, R-Issaquah
  • Rep. Matt Manweller, R-Ellensburg
  • Rep. Terry Nealy, R-Dayton
  • Rep. Ed Orcutt, R-Kalama
  • Rep. Kevin Parker, R-Spokane
  • Rep. Liz Pike, R-Camas
  • Rep. Jay Rodne, R-Snoqualmie
  • Rep. Joe Schmick, R-Colfax
  • Rep. Shelly Short, R-Addy
  • Rep. Norma Smith, R-Clinton
  • Rep. Brandon Vick, R-Felida
  • Rep. Maureen Walsh, R-Walla Walla
  • Rep. JT Wilcox, R-Yelm
  • Rep. Hans Zeiger, R-Puyallup

Editor's note: The endorsement list has been updated as of May 27, 2014.

About the Association of Washington Business
Formed in 1904, the Association of Washington Business is Washington’s oldest and largest statewide business association, and includes more than 8,100 members representing 700,000 employees. AWB serves as both the state’s chamber of commerce and the manufacturing and technology association. While its membership includes major employers like Boeing, Microsoft and Weyerhaeuser, 90 percent of AWB members employ fewer than 100 people. More than half of AWB’s members employ fewer than 10. For more about AWB, visit

Back To News